Since its inception in 1981, NVLSP has been led and staffed by passionate, tenacious, and dedicated women and men who have all worked to ensure that the government delivers to our nation’s veterans and active duty personnel the benefits to which they are entitled because of disabilities resulting from their military service to our country. The individuals listed here comprise the current directory of NVLSP personnel and board members.

Executive Team

  • Rochelle Bobroff
    Pro Bono Director
  • Patty Briotta
    Director of Communications
  • Renee Burbank
    Director of Litigation
  • Ana Reyes
    Director of Development
  • Richard Spataro
    Director of Training and Publications
  • Stacy Tromble
    Director of Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims Litigation
  • Paul Wright
    Executive Director
  • Jeffrey J. Zanghi
    Director of Finance


  • Ronald Abrams
    Special Counsel
  • Adrian Adrias
  • Amy Borgersen
    Appellate Attorney
  • George Burtsev
    Office Manager
  • Clarissa Cashmore
    Staff Attorney
  • Helen Chong
    Training Associate and Webinar Manager
  • Kenneth Ciardiello
    Appellate Attorney
  • Emily Woodward Deutsch
    Appellate Attorney
  • Monica Draper
    Senior Accountant
  • Samuel Foreman
    Development Assistant
  • Solveig Frasch
    Staff Attorney
  • Karen Galla
    Special Counsel
  • Mariah Hanley
    Appellate Attorney
  • Thomas J. Herthel
    Of Counsel
  • Christine Cote Hill
    Special Counsel
  • Alexis Ivory
    Senior Staff Attorney
  • Ryan Kelley
    Georgetown University Law Center Fellow
  • Ann Kenna
    Staff Attorney 
  • Esther Leibfarth
    Senior Staff Attorney
  • Katherine Mann
    Development Manager
  • Michael Marquet
    Case Management Attorney
  • Kenneth Meador
    Appellate Attorney
  • Erin M. Mee
    Pro Bono Coordinating Attorney
  • Lane McCall
    IT Manager
  • Caitlin M. Milo
    Senior Appellate Attorney
  • Christopher Murray
    Senior Appellate Attorney
  • Angela Nedd
    Administrative Assistant
  • Nnamdi Okoli
    Staff Attorney
  • Kelly Parker
    Staff Attorney
  • Andrew Penman
    Appellate Attorney
  • Dorrie Popovski
  • Abigail Reynolds
    Staff Attorney
  • David Sonenshine
    Senior Staff Attorney
  • Katherine Stagner
    Legal Office Assistant
  • Carlie Steiner
    Appellate Attorney
  • Bart Stichman
    Special Counsel
  • Maeve Sullivan
    Staff Attorney
  • Christopher Toms
    Appellate Attorney
  • Dale Ton
    Appellate Attorney
  • Alie Venuti
    Staff Attorney
  • Tekey Wallace
    Staff Attorney
  • Christopher Wysokinski
    Appellate Attorney

Board of Directors

  • Chris T. Antoniou
    Vice President & Deputy General Counsel, retired
    Verizon Partner Solutions
  • Alan Avery
    Latham & Watkins LLP
  • Benjamin C. Block, Co-Chair
    Covington & Burling LLP
  • Cynthia Bright
    Deputy General Counsel
    HP Inc.
  • Richard E. Coe
    Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
  • Nathaniel F. Emmons
    Partner, retired
    Wiley Rein, LLP
  • Ronald S. Flagg
    Legal Services Corporation
  • Will A. Gunn
    General Counsel and Vice President for Legal Affairs
    Legal Services Corporation
  • Greg Harris
    Managing Associate General Counsel
    Verizon Communications
  • Bill Hayden
    Senior Attorney, Corporate, External & Legal Affairs
    Microsoft Corporation
  • Doris Johnson Hines
    Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
  • Donald J. Kassilke
    Global Trade Compliance Counsel
    Arrow Electronics, Inc.
  • Stephen B. Kinnaird
    Paul Hastings LLP
  • Richard D. Klingler
    Ellis George Cipollone O’Brien Annaguey LLP
  • Barry McCoy
    Associate Vice President
    Merck & Co., Inc.
  • Gianni Minutoli
    DLA Piper LLP
  • Nancy Morrison O’Connor
    General Counsel
    The Catholic University of America
  • Thomas E. Riley
    Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Steven Ryan
    Vice President, Global Litigation & Investigations
  • Amy E. Schuh, Co-Chair
    Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP 
  • Howard M. Shapiro
    WilmerHale LLP
  • Eric A. Shumsky
    Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
  • Wayne Smith
    Vietnam Veteran Advocate